Your Local Film and Video News Resource
2007 Atlanta Film Festival Screenplay Competition

November 16, 2007 (Atlanta, GA) —The winners of of the 2007 Atlanta Film Festival Screenplay Competition gathered at the Margaret Mitchell House November 9-11, 2007, for an intensive workshop retreat with six industry mentors.

Flown in from around the country, the competition winners were paired with industry professionals in one-on-one mentoring sessions. This gave the winning screenwriters the chance to receive detailed feedback and coverage on their scripts, and practical real world advice about film production. During the group sessions, the winners were also able to pick the brains of the mentors about their experiences working in the film industry.

"I'd take the retreat over a cash prize any day and I can use the cash," said Steven Brooks from Suwanee, Georgia. "Having someone who works in the industry read my script and then spend time giving honest objective feedback was incredible."

Included in the weekend retreat was a public reading of the winning scripts at the Woodruff Art Center's 14th Street Playhouse on November 10. The evening's readers were selected from IMAGE Film & Video's Acting Workshop Class taught by actor/director/writer Steve Coulter (Tyler Perry's House of Payne, Mr. Brooks, Prison Break). The event was a public opportunity to hear selected portions of the winning scripts.

"We want the Atlanta Film Festival to be known as a festival that discovers new talent and introduces that talent to the world," said Atlanta Film Festival Director Dan Krovich. "By all accounts I can confidently say, as just one component of our long term plans, this weekend accomplished that."

The winners of the 2007 AFF screenplay competition were:

  • "Apparition" by Steven Brooks (Suwanee, GA)
  • "Molewhackers" by Yarrow Wayman (Tacoma, WA)
  • "Pentimenti" by Jennifer Deaton (Los Angeles, CA)
  • "The Seventh Daughter" by Bret Wood (College Park, GA)
  • "Vera" by Caitlin McCarthy (Worcester, MA)
  • "Zeroes and Ones" by Avi Weider (Brooklyn, NY)

Screenplay retreat mentors this year were:

  • Traci Carroll, (Writer/Director/Producer) 2005 Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Semi-Finalist, Creative Director at Warner Brothers
  • Joy Lusco Kecken, (Writer/Director/Producer) HBO's The Wire, NBC's Homicide Life on the Street
  • Kent Osborne, (Writer/Actor) Hannah Takes the Stairs, Dropping Out, Emmy Nominated for Nickelodeon's Spongebob Squarepants and Camp Lazlo
  • Doug Sadler, (Writer/Director) Riders, Swimmers
  • Michael Lucker, (Writer) Mulan II, Vampire in Brooklyn
  • Molly Mayeux, (Producer) Dandelion, Easy